You have no CLUE what It’s Like to be POOR

COPY OF THE EMAIL I JUST SENT TO SEN. RAND PAUL IN ANSWER TO HIS MAIL INFORMING ME ABOUT HOW HE IS SPONSORING HR 2, TO REPEAL THE AFFORDABLE CARE ACT:  “”
April 12, 2013

Dear Sen. Paul:

Thanks for answering.  I read your email all the way through, and sorry I did.

As a person who is Disabled, and who, during 5 1/2 years while I waited to be approved for Disability, went without any income whatsoever, along with no health care and no way to purchase my desperately needed prescriptions, I feel that you have no understanding at all about what it is like to be poor, elderly, or disabled, and have to struggle and try to survive on only $700 a month.  We do not even get enough to support ourselves independently, and can not afford to pay both rent AND utilities.  It is only enough to pay either one or the other, but not both.  This has forced me to either be homeless, or to be unwillingly shoved into situations where I am having to live with others, often strangers, who are more often than not, abusive and unsympathetic.  Being a woman, and being vulnerable to abuse by those who will take advantage of your desperation, this has resulted in some very dangerous and even violent situations, including rape, theft of my belongings, physical, mental, and verbal abuse, not to mention extreme stress which makes my medical conditions much worse.  (Have you ever been homeless, Dr. Paul?  Would you want your mother to be sick and homeless?  Why is it Ok for ME to have to go through that?)

We are charged $120 a month for Medicare premiums.  Contrary to what most people think, Medicare is NOT FREE.  It has a $1500 deductible, and 20% co-pay.  Now, how in the world do you think people who can not even pay rent and utilities can afford a $1500 deductible and 20% co-pays???  That is ridiculous to expect us to even begin to be able to do that.

Not only that, but Medicare does NOT cover prescription medications, and I am forced to pay $54 a month for a Part D Prescription drug policy, which does not cover many medications, and which still leaves a co-pay to pay for.  This keeps me from being able to buy food.  It’s either the medications, or it’s the groceries.  (Which would YOU pick?)  I do without several of my medications because my drug policy does not cover them, and I can not afford to pay over $300 a month for just one of the prescriptions.

I do NOT agree with H.R. 2 and I will NOT support you for voting for this bill.  There is nothing wrong with obligating people who can afford it to pay for health insurance.  Those of us on Medicare, who are living below the Federal Poverty Level, have to pay for it, so why can’t other people do the same?  The Affordable Care Act is not free, either.  You will have to pay on a sliding scale, according to ability to pay.  People whose incomes are under the Federal Poverty Level will be means tested and approved for Medicaid.  It’s about TIME poor Americans could get to go to the doctor!!!  Those who can afford it, will be required to carry health insurance.  This is a good thing – that way no one is running up bills at the Emergency Rooms and in hospitals, that everyone else is forced to foot the bill for, through higher health care insurance and medical and hospital bills.

Everybody thought it was just fine to force everybody to buy auto insurance.  But then, that was because the big insurance companies were benefited by it….  Even Republicans thought THAT was a winner…

What you are proposing, by threatening to repeal the Affordable Care Act, is to kill off about 57 million Americans who, as we speak, can not get medical care.  Don’t give me the tired old Republican song about – go to the Emergency Room, because I have been there, done that.  They will ONLY treat you for your immediate emergency.  There is no preventive care, they will NOT prescribe your routine medications for you anymore, that was done away with under Bush Jr.  You get NO follow-up care and NO doctor will accept you if you have no money and no health care insurance.

I think you doctors make enough money as it is, while everyone else does without everything, even a place to live or food to eat, and NO medical care.  And I think you need to stop representing the interests of the big health care corporations, big pharma companies, and the 1%, and start representing the interests of the American People, who are suffering with no health care, no vision and no dental care.  Americans have the worst health and dental conditions of almost anywhere else – we are in worse shape than most 3rd world countries – at least in Mexico they have a government health care plan and they can go to the doctor and the dentist to get their teeth fixed.  Also, in Mexico, doctors still do house calls for about $20.  Drug companies are not ALLOWED by LAW to earn over a certain percentage above actual costs of prescription drugs.  You don’t see people down in Mexico who can not go to the doctor when they need to, nor going without their medications, nor do you see Mexicans with rotten teeth and abscesses, who can not go to the dentist and get them fixed.

You have lived a privileged life, my dear Mr. Paul, and you have NO CLUE what it is like to do without the things you take so for granted.  Like a place to live, food to eat, and proper health care.

Try living on $700 a month for a while, Mr. Paul, and let me know how that works for you.  Remember to pay your $180 a month for Medicare and Part D prescription drug plans out of that money, too!  Also, you will have NO bank account, NO IRA, NO property, and NO vehicle, either!  Just you and the clothes on your back, and waiting for a check every 3rd of the month, for $700, of which nearly $200 is already GONE.  That leaves you $500 a month.  Where will you live?  And how will you pay your light bill, water bill, phone bill, buy your prescriptions, buy groceries,  you can forget your TV, forget about eating in a restaurant ever again in your life, and forget going anywhere at all, because you will have no money to go anywhere.  You will wear the same clothes for the rest of your life, also, because no way you can ever afford to buy any clothes or shoes again, either.  You will have to go to a free place to see if you can find any free, used shoes and clothing that fits you – that means used socks and underwear, too!  Can you handle that?  I’ll tell you what you WON’T be able to handle, is being treated like a sub-human, like you are garbage, by those who have more than you do.

Do you think it can’t happen to anyone?  Do you think just because you are educated and make good money, it can’t happen to you?  Do you think you are “too good to end up like that”, or that you are not “that class of people”?  You are no better than I am, I have a college education and a profession, too, just like you do, and an IQ of 169 and always worked double shits, 2-3 jobs at a time, and it happened to ME.  It can happen to anyone.

By the way, you are an opthalmologist, right?  Maybe you could help me.  My vision is 20/4800  (or at least that’s what it was ten years ago, the last time I was able to afford to buy glasses)  Can you let me know how I can get some glasses?  Because I can not afford them, Medicare will not cover vision care, and I am legally blind without them.  And maybe you also have a friend who is a dental surgeon and another who is a dentist, because I have 6 teeth broken off at the gums, 2 are abscessed and Medicare will not cover dental, so I am forced to run around like this for many years now.  Can you tell me how I can get my teeth fixed, or have them all pulled and get dentures, so I will not be in constant pain from them?

Welcome to the REAL world.

THINK about it.

I do appreciate you speaking up against the NDAA and using drones against Americans.  But you won’t impress me until you REALLY stand up for us.

Remember your Hippocratic oath.  “Do No Harm”.  Making 57 million people do without health, dental, and vision care DOES HARM.  Stop believing fairy tales and corporate BS.

Thank you
 
Paducah, KY

—–Original Message—–
From: U.S. Senator Rand Paul <senator@paul.senate.gov>
To: 
Sent: Fri, Apr 12, 2013 9:19 am
Subject: Reply from Senator Rand Paul
April 12, 2013

Dear 

Thank you for taking the time to contact me regarding the repeal of Obamacare.  I appreciate hearing your thoughts on this issue.
During the 111th Congress, the Congress passed and President Obama signed into law the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA) – commonly known as “Obamacare” (P.L. 111-148).  This legislation rapidly expanded the powers of government into the health care system.  Since the implementation of Obamacare, many states have filed Constitutional challenges based upon the mandatory purchase of insurance policies, and several courts have ruled the law unconstitutional.
I was not a member of the United States Senate during the 111th Congress, but if I had been I would have voted against Obamacare.  As you may know, in the 113th Congress, I am an original cosponsor of S. 177, which would fully repeal the government takeover of our health care system.
In January 2011, Representative Eric Cantor (R-Va.) introduced Repealing the Job-Killing Health Care Law Act (H.R. 2).  This legislation would repeal PPACA and restore all provisions of the law the PPACA amended.  H.R. 2 passed the House by a vote of 245-189 and was never voted on in the Senate.
As a doctor, I have had firsthand experience with the vast problems facing health care in the United States.  Like other areas of the economy where the federal government wields its heavy hand, health care is over-regulated and in need of serious market reforms.  Government interventions in health care have driven up the cost of coverage.  I have long supported making all medical expenses tax deductible, allowing insurance to be bought across state lines, tort reform, and allowing all citizens access to Health Savings Accounts by removing the high-deductible insurance policy requirement.

Sincerely,
Signature
Rand Paul, MD
United States Senator

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to You have no CLUE what It’s Like to be POOR

  1. Thanks for reposting my reply to Sen. Paul, who thinks poor people could be benefited by being able to use their medical expenses as a “tax deduction”. What a joke! Poor people can’t afford to pay the medical expenses in the first place. Also, poor people don’t file income tax returns, because we have no income – or certainly not enough to have to file a tax return on it…

    • Senator Paul, you did not address the issues this woman spoke of. Why not? You only ststed that you would not have voted for the affordable care act. That leads us all to believe you don’t care for this woman or the thousands like her.what a chump you are~a slimey weasel! I can’t believe you did not address any of her issues . You need to be voted out because you obviously care nothing about poor or middel class people. Believe me chump, your day will come. & when it does I hope you remember all the harm you did to us the 99%.

  2. Jorychi says:

    What about QMB from the state and Extra Help from Social Security? You should be under their income limits. QMB will pay your Medicare premium, all copays and cover everything in the deductible. Extra Help will pay the PDP premiums and deductible, cover you in the donut hole and provide you a smaller prescription copay. (Mine is 6.60 a month for the highest copay) also does Humana do Medicare plans in your area? My Humana plan has a zero premium on top of the standard (original) Medicare premium of 104.90 and a 200 dollar deductible. I’m still waiting on QMB to find out if I qualify. The QMB income limit for an individual is 100% of the federal poverty level, 900-something a month.

  3. Dixie Thompson says:

    You are but one of many…WE MUST RISE UP!!!!

    • Phil B says:

      Every time we do, the cops (who “protect and serve” the 1%) beat us down…

      Welcome to Corporate America….Land of the Greed, Home of the Enslaved…

    • ALJONES says:

      JUST VOTE…WE NEED TERM LIMITS SEND THESE GUYS BACK TO PRIVATE SECTOR …NO LIFE TIME JOB OR HEALTHCARE…VOTE TERM LIMITS

      • Phil B says:

        Political system in this country too corrupt…as bad (if not WORSE) than the Third World…unless we can get the U.N. to monitor our elections…

  4. Senator Paul, you did not address the issues this woman spoke of. Why not? You only ststed that you would not have voted for the affordable care act. That leads us all to believe you don’t care for this woman or the thousands like her.what a chump you are~a slimey weasel! I can’t believe you did not address any of her issues . You need to be voted out because you obviously care nothing about poor or middel class people. Believe me chump, your day will come. & when it does I hope you remember all the harm you did to us the 99%.

  5. Faye SLAGLE says:

    How can people afford to buy insurance when they are unemployed? I have been without insurance for over three years and I do not qualify for Medicaid. My husband has lung cancer and gets a meager social security check something needs to be done to help all these people

  6. lynnette says:

    RAND PAUL, YOU’RE AN IDIOT. YOU HAVE TO MAKE A CERTAIN AMOUNT & BE ABLE TO HAVE ENOUGH TO DEDUCT IN THE FIRST PLACE TO BE ABLE TO GET TAX DEDUCTIONS. MOST TIMES PEOPLE HAVE INTEREST IN THEIR MORTGAGES TO OBTAIN THAT LEVEL. IF YOU CAN’T AFFORD A HOME YOU CERTAINLY WILL NOT BE ABLE TO DEDUCT MEDICAL EXPENSES. EFFIN MORON!

  7. Robert Brennan says:

    Senator Rand Paul, seeming like the “Mainstream Voice” for Republicans, is following the Skeletal Remaining, Party Platform’s, of a “burning Party”, that should do whats right for Americans, who are struggling, just to survive, Medically,and Economically. Its patetic and embarrassing to see so many American people, needing the mere basics,that most every other Industrialized Country, has , while the “Richest”, Americans, are the only citizens, getting, in such a big way, Tax Breaks, and every other break, thats perpetuating the WRONG direction, of what needs to be done. Shame on every Republican, who is still believing in their Party, more than what your electorate needs.

  8. Phil B says:

    We NEED a health care system that is such that NO MATTER WHAT, you’ll be covered, you don’t owe ANYBODY, ANYTHING!!!

    I’m not holding my breath…

  9. Rose says:

    I do know what it is like to be poor I do it everyday ..I too had to wait for my disability and I too had nothing I had NOTHING no money no home to call mine I lived with my daughter ! I never wanted this disability but for some reason it chose me . Now that I have disability that toke everything away from me I only get 700 a month ok now what !!!! How do I pay bills ? Can’t work no one will take me I’m over 50 what do I do? I didn’t ask for 2 forms of arthritis I don’t want it. it cripples you up now what !!! can someone out there help me? Things need to really change but I don’t know what to change.I live only day to day and hope I can find the right road to go down…

    • Anne Niermann says:

      Like you I have an invisible disorder called fibromyalgia . I spent 7.5 years to get disability and lived on the streets during this time. I was only back paid for 2 years. I feel ripped off, I suffered all those years to prove that I do have fibromyalgia. And during this time I was put in bad situations. Sleeping outside in all weather and elements (bugs and wild creatures like possums and snakes), mentally and physically assaulted by men that were willing to help me in trade of sex which I would not agree to and in some cases was not given a choice i would get raped. After fighting SSDI for 7.5 years which by the way I was fighting for a measly $700.00 a month I now live a very limited life. I exist. Every morning I have to find some reason to get up. I ask myself get up for what? I have no money to go anywhere, just going to all my doctor appointment eats through what little I can put back for gas. and my fibromyalgia makes it so I can’t walk much distances or for any standing for long periods of time. So I basically exist in a 2 bdrm apartment that I can barely afford and the TV is my window to the world. This goes out to all those Senators and Congressman who say I should be able to do more with less and have a happy life. I say you give me 3 months maybe 4 or 5 and I will show you what it feels to live this oh so wonderful life that you seem to think all of us entitled takers are living in the end you might be surprised at what you find out. The sad thing is you won’t even give it a second thought and would never lower yourself to do the things you have to when you are homeless, without any kind of insurance, no vehicle under 10 years old or no vehicle at all. Mass transit is always a ball who knows you might actually enjoy it. NOT! No job cause you can’t work while filing for disability otherwise you wouldn’t be disabled. Homeless shelters always a blast and the worst food in this country. So if you ever want to learn what it’s like to be on disability give me a shout. I would be so happy to enlighten you

  10. Sam Brown says:

    This is my situation as well, it describes anyone on dissablity or social security. The fat cats have never walked a mile in our hand me down shoes, and they would not survive it.

  11. Rand Paul is a spineless, windbag with no substance and morally defunct.

  12. Mark Carlson says:

    Dianne Galster: That was a FORM LETTER RESPONSE, sent by the good Dr. Senator’s taxpayer-funded computer response team! He doesn’t care a whit!

  13. Rachael says:

    I really appritiate this woman writing and expressing her reality in such clear terms. I am so sorry that the jacka** didnt even address what she said. The majority of the wealthy really dont give a damn about poor people, as long as they don’t have to see us dying, they would prefer we do. We’re taking up space and air they might have use for. I am in similar situation, except I haven’t the abuility to apply for help because you need a doctor to say your disabled and I cant afford to see one.

  14. KW says:

    I am in the same boat. Two tumors in my neck that I can’t get care for, diabetes Type I, $139 pr month for insulin — no insurance. I am working two partime jobs, have a college degree, am 56 and not getting FT work, every month it’s who do I pay, spin the wheel and pray! I have lost my fight. Lost hope. Lost. In the last three years I have been close to being homeless. Close enough to start figuring out where to park my car, how to get a shower, and how to store some dry food. No more hope. Not today anyway.

Leave a Reply

